The big return to work !

I have successfully transitioned back into the working realm. I was granted a total of five months leave of absense from work due to a few complications after birth . after all of that time getting back into a daily routine has been a definite adjustment, however I am happy to report the change has gone much soother than I anticipated. Just to give a quick share of my morning routine I wake up at about 5:50am, breastfeed Nova, gather everyone’s needed belongings for the day, and lastly I finally proceed to get myself dressed and ready to go. I cant stress enough how thankful I am for my significant other, While I am getting dressed he gets the kids ready to go and gives Taite his breakfast. This transition would have been such a task without his help. Team work definitely makes the dream work. It is imperative my family and I leave our home no later than 6:40am. Leaving at or before this time is the only way to avoid horrific Los Angeles, CA rush hour traffic. From the time I wake up until I make it home from work I am going; all gas no brakes which was one of my biggest concerns with coming back to work. all things considered I have realized our daily routine is not half as bad once you become accustomed to doing the same thing everyday. Long days were not my only worry. I thought about so many different ways me working could effect  my life negatively and never once considered that it may be more positive than negative. Truthfully non of the negative thoughts became a reality and returning to work has been good for me to get out the house seeing and talking to people on a daily bases. One big concern that had me beating myself way more than necessary was my depleting breast milk supply.

For most strictly or heavily breastfeeding moms sustaining flowing milk and having a plentiful frozen breast milk stash is essential for the big return to work. However, me on the other hand my flow and stash were both nonexistent. Regretfully I procrastinated with making sure I did what was necessary to ensure not only that Nova had enough breast milk through out day while I worked, but also to keep my milk production up. So here is the jaw dropper. I only had about 10oz of milk saved, and a whole can of Earths Best Organic Milk. Of course I was beyond concerned about Nova getting used to the formula and not wanting to accept breast milk anymore. Thankfully little Miss Nova prefers mommy milk which is such a breath of fresh air.

Currently I work at a hospital so when it comes to breastfeeding staff and management are extremely supportive. Before I returned to my scheduled shift I was able to visit the work and life matters office, and receive access to the lactation rooms of my choice. I go to the lactation room on my breaks; one 45minute break and two 10 minute breaks. I am so thankful for the management where I work because they allow me a little extra time to be able to pump my milk. Having a job where the staff is so supportive and understanding has made this journey so much easier because it relives me of the worry about loosing my milk due to not emptying.

Returning to work can cause much anxiety especially when you feel you could have been better prepared. I am here to assure you that whether you were fully prepared or not do not let your thoughts and feelings push you to give up. I almost said “forget it” on my first day back but I stuck it out instead. I want my mommies who are retuning to work to feel confident in their breastfeeding journey as a working mom. look at me! I went from having only 10oz of milk to now everyday I am restocking the freezer by at least three bags daily. In addition my milk production has improved tremendously. We have to start somewhere and late is always better than never or even giving up. shout out to all my super moms who were and are dedicated and able to get bags on top of bags saved for your little ones. Its not easy but you did it! If you ask me that’s an accomplishment. Mommies that are feeling discomfort at the thought of work don’t let your mind mislead you into thinking its going to be the worst. Its really not that bad. Lastly reach out to your jobs before you return if you haven’t already or if you just unsure or unaware about support and options for breast feeding employees.

Leave a comment